Whole30

Today marks day 17 of the Whole30 challenge, and I wanted to share a little bit on my experience so far. First off, I call it the Whole30 CHALLENGE. Not the whole30 diet. I am not on a diet. It is not some quick fix, lose weight fast, restrict myself for 30 days to lose some belly fat diet. In fact one of the rules during the challenge is you cannot weigh yourself or measure yourself for the 30 days. There are two reasons to do the Whole30 challenge.

Reason number one has to do with food sensitivities. During the whole30 challenge you cut out foods such as grains, dairy, sugar, soy, and legumes. These are foods that are common for people to have sensitivities to. The idea is that you go 30 days without any of the foods, to really get them all out of your system, then reintroduce them one at a time to see how each effect your body. For me I’m excited about this part because my stomach is very sensitive. I have already been eating gluten free for about 2 years, but still have issues and I haven’t been able to figure out what it comes from, so we’ll see! (my bet is on sugar, unfortunately)

Reason number two has more to do with the relationships we tend to have with food today. As I have shared before, I tend to be an emotional eater. After coming back to AZ after a month in MN, with all the changes that were going on, my stress levels were high and I noticed myself going back to those old emotional eater habits I used to know so well. And if I’m being honest? That scared the crap out of me. For the first time in a long time I had felt like I had completely lost my self control when it came to food. So when a friend said she was doing the Whole30 challenge, it sounded like the perfect way to get myself back on track. To learn that cravings are just cravings, and I don’t actually need whatever it is that I’m craving. This was really frustrating for me the first week or so. Now on day 17, its gotten so much easier, and its gotten really easy to be around all the treats but not feel like I need it.

Annoyances at this point are that I miss my foods that are quick and easy to prepare, like a bowl of oatmeal or a protein shake. And let’s be real the fact that pumpkin spice lattes are out is somewhat torture that I cant have one yet. But at the end of the day knowing once again I put nothing but healthy, whole foods in my body REALLY does make it all worth it. I cant wait to see how I’m feeling by the end of it!

Leave a Reply

